Acting favourites were spread across the three big budget new musicals.

Thanks to the hundreds of music theatre fans who voted in the inaugural Theatre People Pro Choice Awards. With plenty of productions on offer, Melbourne theatre fans have been spoilt for choice this year. Established stars such as Marina Prior, Phillip Quast, Anne Wood, Michael Cormick, Sylvie Paladino and Todd McKenney were joined by a tidal waves of newly minted stars such as Verity Hunt–Ballard, Josh Piterman, Jaz Flowers, Esther Hannaford and Christy Whelan.
The biggest winning margin in TP Pro Choice voting went to Esther Hannaford in her hilarious performance as Penny Pingleton in Hairspray.
Best Actress went to Verity Hunt-Ballard, who has soared into audience’s hearts as Mary Poppins.
Long time The Production Company stalwart Adam Murphy made a memorable impression way back in January as the colourful Adolpho.
Mega star Geoffrey Rush beat out Trevor Ashley in the most closely contested category of Best Actor.
[title of show] was a clear favourite in the Limited Run/Concert category.
West Side Story was streets ahead as Best Revival.
Ultimate honours for Best New Musical went to the dazzling Australian production of Hairspray.
Looking ahead to 2011 Melbourne music theatre is in for another big year. The first half of the year will see:
The Boy from Oz return to the State Theatre
Xanadu open its Australian tour in a Grand Marquee at the Docklands
Doctor Zhivago take the place of Mary Poppins at Her Majesty’s
Love Never Dies premiere at the Regent
Next to Normal run at the Playhouse.
These shows will compete for audience attention with special events such as Le Grand Cirque, The Music of Andrew Lloyd Webber, Walking with Dinosaurs, Riverdance and Cirque du Soleil’s Saltimbanco.
See you at the theatre!
Best New Musical
Best Revival of a Musical
Best Limited Run/Concert Musical
Best Actor
Trevor Ashley; Edna; Hairpsray
Todd McKenney; Peter Allen; The Boy from Oz
Josh Piterman; Tony; West Side Story
Phillip Quast; George Banks; Mary Poppins
Geoffrey Rush; Man in Chair; The Drowsy Chaperone
Best Supporting Actor
Rohan Browne; Riff; West Side Story
Michael Cormick; Sam; Mamma Mia!
Adam Murphy; Adolpho; The Drowsy Chaperone
Dennis Olsen; Sir Osgood Fielding III; Sugar
Stephen Wheat; Charley Kringas; Merrily We Roll Along
Best Actress
Jaz Flowers; Tracy Turnblad; Hairspray
Chelsea Gibb; Anna Leonowens; The King & I
Julie Goodwin; Maria; West Side Story
Verity Hunt-Ballard; Mary Poppins; Mary Poppins
Anne Wood; Donna; Mamma Mia!
Best Supporting Actress
Robyn Arthur; Marion Woolnough; The Boy from Oz
Esther Hannaford; Penny Pingleton; Hairspray
Christen O’Leary; Judy Garland; The Boy from Oz
Sylivie Paladino; Lady Thiang; The King & I
Christie Whelan; Janet van de Graaf; The Drowsy Chaperone