The People have spoken. The Theatre People that is.

Thank you to the hundreds of Theatre People readers who voted for their favourites in our second annual Pro Choice Awards.


Rock of Ages, which had the wildest Melbourne closing performance in recent memory on November 6, dominated the winners circle, with Love Never Dies, which opens in Sydney in January, contributing a pair of acting favourites.


Magnormos made their presence felt with their sold out season of Flowerchildren being elected Best Limited Run Musical.



2012 will bring a range of new productions, including the return of Annie, the Broadway revival of South Pacific, new musical An Officer and a Gentleman and the eagerly awaited Legally Blonde. Tune in this time next year to see who comes on out on top from this new batch!


Sharon Millerchip’s return to the role of Meg Giry (below, centre) in The Phantom of the Opera sequel Love Never Dies brought her out on top as Best Supporting Actress, receiving the highest number of votes.


Millerchip’s co-star Simon Gleeson (below, right) took out Best Supporting Actor for his portrayal of the tortured Raoul in Love Never Dies.


Amy Lehpamer (below, left) was a popular choice for Best Actress as the wide-eyed Sherrie in Rock of Ages.


Lehpamer’s leading man Justin Burford narrowly pipped Phantom Ben Lewis (by 1% !) to take out Best Actor for his high profile debut as rocker Drew in Rock of Ages.


The Rock of Ages creative team took out the trio of production team awards: Best Musical Director: Dave Skelton, Best Choreographer: Kelly Devine and Best Director: Kristin Hanggi.


Flowerchildren- The Story of The Mamas and The Papas was Theatre People readers’ favourite as Best Limited Run Musical.


Rock of Ages took out the ultimate prize of Best Musical.



The full list of nominations (with winners in bold):


Best Supporting Actress:

Laura Fitzpatrick Mama Michelle, flowerchildren

Sharon Millerchip, Meg Giry, Love Never Dies

Chelsea Plumley, Lalume, Kismet

Christie Whelan, Erma, Anything Goes

Anne Wood, Celia, Prodigal

Taneel van Zyl, Tonia, Doctor Zhivago


Best Supporting Actor:

Martin Crewes Pasha, Doctor Zhivago

Michael Falzon, Stacee Jaxx, Rock of Ages

Simon Gleeson, Raoul, Love Never Dies

Lincoln Hall, Franz, Rock of Ages

Brent Hill, Lonny, Rock of Ages

Bert LaBonté Dr Fine/Dr Madden, Next to Normal


Best Actress:

Kate Kendall, Diana, Next to Normal

Amy Lehpamer, Sherrie, Rock of Ages

Lucy Maunder, Lara, Doctor Zhivago

Samantha Morley, Harriet Piper, The Hatpin
Anna O’Byrne Christine Daae, Love Never Dies

Christie Whelan, Clio/Kira, Xanadu


Best Actor:

Justin Burford, Drew, Rock of Ages

Matt Hetherington, Dan, Next to Normal

Ben Lewis, The Phantom, Love Never Dies

Sam Ludeman, Sonny, Xanadu

Alex Rathgeber, Billy, Anything Goes

Anthony Warlow, Yuri Zhivago, Doctor Zhivago



Best Musical Director:

Kellie Dickerson, Doctor Zhivago

Mathew Frank, Next to Normal

Guy Noble, The Music of Andrew Lloyd Webber

Guy Simpson, Love Never Dies

Dave Skelton, Rock of Ages

Sophie Thomas, flowerchildren



Best Choreographer:

Kelley Abbey, Xanadu

Kelly Devine, Rock of Ages

Andrew Hallsworth, Anything Goes

Graeme Murphy, Love Never Dies

Alana Scanlan, Kismet

Stephen Wheat, Hello, Dolly! (magnormos)



Best Director:

Dean Bryant, Next to Normal

Aaron Joyner, flowerchildren

Kristin Hanggi, Rock of Ages

Shaun Kingma, The Hatpin

Des McAnuff, Doctor Zhivago

Simon Phillips, Love Never Dies




Best Limited Run/Concert Musical:


The Hatpin




Best New Musical:

Doctor Zhivago

Love Never Dies

Next to Normal

Rock of Ages




Keep Reading:

Theatre People 2011 Pro Choice Nominations Announced

Theatre People 2010 Pro Choice Winners Announced

VIDEO – Interview with Rock of Ages Leading Lady Amy Lehpamer