The Top 6 Artists of Colour Initiative finalists have been selected from the Top 30 semi-finalists. They are Grace Driscoll, Jarrod Draper, Lauren Cheok, Martha Berhane, Milo Hartill-Batsietswe and Raphael Wong.

“When founding the AOC Initiative I expected to find incredible talent. I expected to find artists of colour all over the country who were ready to show up and grab this opportunity with both hands. And I’ll have you know that the Top 6 in particular have done exactly that,” says AOC Initiative founder Tarik Frimpong

The latest AOC Initiative GoFundMe campaign has raised over $30,000 with the target goal now set to $40,000. 100% of the funds raised will be awarded to the six finalists with the winner receiving 50% of the funds, the runner up receiving 20% of the funds and the final four receiving 7.5% each of the funds. The GoFundMe campaign will close early December.

In addition to this prize pool, the AOC Initiative is proud to have partnered with Patrick School of the Arts to offer one full or two half scholarships to attend their full time tertiary Musical Theatre Course in 2021 valued at $22,000. The course is directed by one of Australia’s leading, award-winning musical theatre choreographers Andrew Hallsworth, and builds on the school’s strong dance reputation complimented by intense drama and vocal training. Together with Swinburne University of Technology (RTO 3059), they offer nationally accredited VET courses in their programs.

The Top 6 finalists will also receive arts business mentorship from the team at Creative Plus Business (CPB) valued at $1,320. CPB are also donating four workshops to all of the AOC Initiative artists valued at $6,000 to upskill them in business. Creative Plus Business is a social enterprise dedicated to educating creative people and arts organisations about business skills. They help through sharing practical knowledge in a fun and irreverent way with everything designed to help creatives feel more confident and comfortable about the entrepreneurial aspects of their creative practice.

For the final round of submissions, the finalists must submit one video of themselves singing or rapping any song from a musical written by a Person of Colour; one video of themselves singing or rapping any song written or performed by a Person of Colour (the song must NOT be from a musical); one video of themselves dancing/moving to any song written or performed by a Person of Colour; one video of themselves performing a monologue written by a Person of Colour that contrasts their second round submission and a typed response to the question: “What does being one of the Top 6 finalists of the inaugural AOC Initiative mean to you?” Submissions for this final round will close on Monday 7 December and from there one winner will be announced.

The 2020 AOC Initiative Top 30 are Aadhya Wijegoonawardena, Abu Kebe, Aiden Wang, Akansha Hugenahally, Angelina Thomson, Ava Madon, Daniella Delfin, Deirdre Khoo, Dindi Huckle-Moran, Ellie Chan, Gabriella Barbagallo, Giorgia Kennedy, Grace Driscoll, Guillaume Gentil, Jade Delmiguez, Jarrod Draper, Jerome Javier, Joshua Sanerive, Juan Gomez, Kara Sims, Karis Oka, Kristie Nguy, Lauren Cheok, Martha Berhane, Milo Hartill-Batsietswe, Naarah Barnes, Nicole Rammesh, Raphael Wong, Shannon Cheong and Yashith Fernando.

The 2020 AOC Initiative panelists are Barry Conrad, Bree Langridge, Callum Francis, Cessalee Smith-Stovall, Chenoa Deemal, Daniel J Puckey, Dean Drieberg, Fiona Choi, Kurt Kansley, Laura Tipoki, Leah Howard, Miss Cairo, Olivia Vasquez, Ruva Ngwenya, Sello Molefi, Sophia Laryea, Steph Tisdell, Tarik Frimpong, Thando Sikwila, Tim Omaji, Tyrel Dulvarie, Vidya Makan, Will Centurion, Yasmin Kassim and Yvette Lee.

The AOC Initiative was created by People of Colour for People of Colour fighting for change in the Australian musical theatre industry.