Applications are now open for The R  E  Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards 2012. The Awards are open to Victorian–based playwrights and deliver a total of $30,000 to support the development of plays as works–in–progress.

Applicants are eligible to apply for a minimum of $3,000 and maximum of $10,000 in prize money which may be used to fund workshops or support further work with a director, dramaturg, script editor and/or actors.  The plays should not have been previously developed or produced.

The Award winners also have the opportunity for rehearsed readings in Flashpoint at the State Library of Victoria or fortyfivedownstairs. One recipient may be invited to either showcase their play at PlayWriting Australia’s National Play Festival 2013 or receive a two–week Playwriting Australia script development workshop.

The annual Awards are administered by the State Library of Victoria.  Awards Coordinator Wendy Lasica says The R E Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards have become an anticipated part of the Victorian playwriting calendar and are unique in Australia.

"Since the Awards were established in 2003 they have become a valuable support to the development of new work in Australia for both established and emerging playwrights. The Awards fill a gap in the industry and provide a wonderful opportunity for playwrights to bring their works to fruition."

An information session will be held on Tuesday 28 February 2012, 6.30-7.30pm, Conference Centre, State Library of Victoria, Entry 3, La Trobe St – those intending to apply are encouraged to attend.

Entries close 5pm Friday 23 March 2012

For information and entry forms:

Email: [email protected]
Telephone: 03 8664 7277
State Library of Victoria
328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, VIC 3000

The R E Ross Trust is a perpetual charitable Trust established in Victoria in 1970 by the will of the late Roy Everard Ross. Since its inception The R E Ross Trust has distributed over 80 million dollars in grants for charitable purposes in Victoria.