Following hundreds of applications and auditions, judges Kellie Dickerson, Jason Coleman and Stuart Maunder have selected the following six finalists for the 2012 ANZ Trustees Foundation, Rob Guest Endowment:
KIRBY BURGESS – An Officer & A Gentlemen
ANDY CONAGHAN – South Pacific
EUAN DOIDGE – A Chorus Line, Legally Blonde the Musical
SAMM HAGEN – Rock of Ages
GLENN HILL – Legally Blonde the Musical, Dr Zhivago
These six finalists will perform with a full orchestra at the 2012 Rob Guest Endowment Gala Concert sharing the spotlight with a ‘who’s who’ of Australian show business.
Now in its fourth year, the Rob Guest Endowment is a highly anticipated annual opportunity to showcase some of Australia’s finest new musical theatre talent, which culminates in a night of stellar performances at the Endowment’s Gala Concert.
The concert is a night to remember and honour the memory of Australia’s much-loved star, Rob Guest OBE, whose sudden passing in 2008 shocked the industry. The Rob Guest Endowment is a platform for emerging artists to showcase their talents before the industry and provide them with an opportunity to launch promising careers in Australian musical theatre.
The Gala Concert will be held on Monday November 19 at Her Majesty’s Theatre in Melbourne. Hosted by Bert Newton, Lucy Durack and Rob Mills, the night will feature performances by some of Australia’s finest musical theatre stars, including the casts of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum and South Pacific.Under the musical direction of Kellie Dickerson, these stars will perform alongside the six talented young finalists all vying to become the fourth recipient of the Rob Guest Endowment.
In 2008 ANZ Trustees established a memorial fund in Rob Guest’s honour to encourage emerging young performers in musical theatre. Recipients receive the opportunity to study in New York under the guidance of the best that Broadway has to offer to the value of $10,000.
This year, for the first time, a lucky runner-up will receive the inaugural ‘Production Company Artists Development Award’, which is a cash prize of $5,000 and features a guaranteed live performance in one of the Production Company’s sure-to-be exciting seasons in the following two years. The remaining four finalists will each receive a $500 cash-prize.