Impro-Comedy Climax Opens Summer Silly Season!

Fast. Furious. Hilarious. The Theatresports Cranston Cup Grand Final is here again!

For over thirty years, the start of the Sydney summer ‘silly season’ has been marked by the biggest impro show in Australia. Six teams of the fastest, funniest and finest improvisers in the country, pit their wits against each other to get their hands on the biggest, ugliest, most prized trophy in competitive comedy… The Cranston Cup

This year, competition director David Callan (pictured below with Jon Williams) has created a fierce and frantic competition.

Natalie Bochenski,Wade Robinson,Tom Dunstan,Marko Muscat,Dave Callan, Jon Willliams,Bridee,Lyn Pierse, Rama Nicholas,Daniel Cordeaux,Cale Bain,Michael Glennon,Ewan Campbell,Patti Stiles, Rebecca De Unamuno,

“With 22 teams and only five heats it was always going to be manic but as Rob Reiner once said ‘A brilliant mind in panic is a wonderful thing to see’, and this year there have been some seriously brilliant minds under some seriously insane pressure.”

Theatresports in Sydney has a tradition of uncovering some of Australia’s most talented people: Andrew Denton, Julia Zemiro, Rob Carlton, Adam Spencer, Andrew O’Keefe, Susie Youssef and Steen Raskopoulos are just some of the stars that have been born in the comic crucible of the Cranston Cup.

This year is no different, and features players who have honed their skills to the Nth degree for the chance to out-perform their rivals and take the big prize. Among them are Cranston Grand Final debutants “Hey Cactus” (Jeromaia Detto, Scott Sheridan and Hayden Wright) who have tuned their impro engines at Chicago’s famed Second City and the spiritual home of Theatresports: the Loose Moose Theatre in Calgary

Cranston cup low res


Joining them in the final are previous winners “Yes Sinister” (Michael Gregory, Jim Fishwick, Anna Renzenbrink), Mantaur” (Rob Johnson & Harry Milas) and “Boxparty” (Clare Cavanagh, Maddie Parker & Jane Watt). Two more finalists will be named after next Sunday’s repechage semi.

No Grand Final would be complete without a top team of officials and this year’s host is multiple Cranston winner, World Theatresports MVP and stand-up comedian, 702-ABC’s Rebecca de Unamuno (pictured below with Adam Spencer). She will be ably assisted by the ultimate Theatresports grease-monkey, the impromeister himself, Marko Mustac.

IMG_5959 Adam Specer + Bec De Unamuno

Fill your tanks, check your mirrors and get down to the Enmore to watch the impro pedal hit the comedy metal and start your summer with a hi-octane bang when the stars of tomorrow leave nothing in the garage in a raucous race for glory.

Watch the Theatresports trailer here


Cranston Cup Grand Final 2017: Fast. Furious. Hilarious.

Sunday December 3 at 7:00 pm
Enmore Theatre, 118 Enmore Rd, Newtown
Tickets from $35.00/$28.00 (conc) plus booking fee
Bookings  or 95503666

More info at