March is fast approaching, and with it comes theatre glory!

A special announcement for next month:

"The prestigious Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards will be announced at a gala Garden Party and Awards Ceremony on Thursday 20 March, 6.30pm until 8.30pm at Cranlana, Toorak.

The evening will feature Eddie Perfect as MC.

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards are a celebration of the performing arts across Australia.  The gala invitation only event pays tribute to outstanding excellence in drama, comedy, dance, music, opera, circus and puppetry throughout Australia.

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards include:  the Group Award with a cash prize of $80,000; an Individual Award, with a cash prize of $50,000; and the Facilitator’s Prize with a cash prize of $20,000.

Announced annually, the national awards are determined by a Judging Committee chaired by Carrillo Gantner AO (Chairman of the Sidney Myer Fund) and this year they included:  Paul Dyer AO (Artistic Director of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra), Brett Sheehy AO (Artistic Director of Melbourne Theatre Company), Hannah Skrzynski (Director of Creative Asia) and Sarah Neal (Executive Producer, Malthouse Theatre).

The Judging Committee recognises past achievements but also gives consideration to the potential of an individual or group to continue their contribution to Australian society through the performing arts.

The Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards were established in 1984 by the Trustees of the Sidney Myer Fund, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the death of Sidney Myer, a passionate advocate and great friend to the arts."