Australia’s new writing theatre, Griffin Theatre Company, is calling for submissions of original plays or performance texts to be assessed and shortlisted by the Griffin Resident Artists. The shortlist will be put before a judging panel of industry leaders to select a winner for the 2012 Griffin Award.

The award, generously sponsored by PKF Chartered Accountants & Business Advisers, and now in its 15th year, offers a cash prize of $10,000 for an outstanding new Australian play or performance text displaying an authentic, inventive and contemporary voice. In addition to being one of the most prestigious writing awards in the country, this is a fantastic opportunity for playwrights all over Australia to showcase their talent to Australia’s premiere new writing theatre.

Griffin’s Associate Director Lee Lewis said “After the overwhelming success of the 2009 Griffin Award winner Silent Disco this year, and the excitement that the upcoming production of A Hoax (2011 winner) is generating, we are well aware that the award is one of our best ways of finding the best new stories that are out there.”

The Griffin Award celebrates the bright future of Australian drama and has a long history of highlighting new talent and cementing the careers of emerging writers. Previous winners include Rick Viede (A Hoax 2011, Whore, 2008), Aiden Fennessy (Brutopia, 2010),Lachlan Philpott (Silent Disco, 2009), Damien Millar (Emergency Sexand Other Desperate Measures, 2007), Mary Rachel Brown (Australian Gothic, 2006), Ian Wilding (The Carnivores, 2005), Debra Oswald (Mr Bailey’s Minder, 2004) and Brendan Cowell (Rabbit, 2003).

The 2012 winner will be announced at the Griffin Festival of New Writing in June. Selections from all shortlisted plays will be read in the theatre prior to the announcement of the winner, so all lovers of new writing are encouraged to come to the event for a chance to see the newest work from the best writers in the country.

Entry forms are available for download from Entries must be received by 4.00pm, Tuesday 14 February, 2012.